How To- Head Proportions: Adding The Features

Hi guys!
Welcome to Part 2 of the Head Proportions tutorial. If you haven’t checked out Part 1 yet, click HERE! In this one, we talk about how to add facial features to an already drawn head.
Step 1: If you remember, we finished the previous tutorial by drawing three horizontal lines (and then the ear eggs!). Now, vertically divide those lines into four sections on each side. To make this easy, first divide each half of the face into two further halves. Then divide these into quarters. I know, this doesn’t seem to make any sense, but hopefully the picture below does!

Step 2: Can I get a slow clap for Bionic Head down here? Divide the second section away from the centre horizontally into two further halves as shown below. These form guides for the eyelids. I must mention that this step is completely optional, I just like to be meticulous when it comes to guidelines.

Step 3: Draw the eyes in, bearing in mind that the inner corners should be at the same horizontal level, at least from this view, and so should, preferably, the outer corners. Make note to draw the eyebrows longer than the eyes….unless of course your subject has tweezed them super short!

Step 4: Use the nose line we mentioned in the last tutorial to draw in three circles as shown below. This is the base of the nose. Draw in lips as you see fit.!

Step 5: Add and remove details as you see fit. I should mention that most of the lines we drew are only general guides, and it’s more than okay to erase and readjust features as you see fit. For instance, I had to redo the ears and the jaw so they weren’t unnaturally high! The finished product should look vaguely like this:

I gave the sketch a super quick semi-realistic makeover, and this is what she ended up looking like.
To give your sketch a semi-realistic makeover, check out my specific tutorials here!

So there it is! This is the method I use to draw most of my line-art, especially with references. I hope this helps. If you do give it a go, please tweet or instagram a picture to me, and I’d be more than happy to share it!
Let me know in the comments below what you guys think, and also what sort of tutorials you’d like to see in the future!
Thank you ever so much for reading, and have a lovely week!
-S.

 

Share your thoughts...

